Bargain Comic Reviews

New Reviews of Old Comics

Mister Miracle #1 (Jan. 1989)


Purchase price: $1

Observant readers will know I’m a huge Mister Miracle fan, with the original Kirby stories being my favorite.  For whatever reason Scott Free connects with me as being one of the most human super heroes out there.  Okay, so he is the son of a god (the god of all the New Gods, actually) from another planet, performs super escape stunts with the help of Mother Box and constantly has an insane cast of villains trying to capture him, but besides that, I find him very relatable.  To me his character has always been about wanting to be free to live his life as he wishes, not to save the world, fight crime or any of that usual super-hero mantra stuff.  Who can’t relate to that?

As much as I like Mister Miracle, I despise this cover.  This would be an ugly cover if it was issue 23 or 98, but being that it’s the first issue of the series makes it even worse for me.  While the idea of the appliances attacking Mister Miracle is just OK, the real horror is in the execution.  He’s all square-ish looking and out of proportion laid over a gradient orange background; very amateurish like it was a last minute rush job.  That said, this horrid didn’t prevent me from buying the issue, did it?  “Be It Ever So Humble” was written by J.M. DeMatteis with Ian Gibson handling the art, which opens with Scott Free, his wife, Barda, and “Uncle” Oberon moving into their new home in typical-small-town-America where Scott is opening a fix-it shop.  As previously noted, he is continuing his pursuit of living a normal life, but as Oberon continues to point out, Scott Free is far from normal and he shouldn’t try to run from it.  Big Barda, Scott’s wife, is also from Apokolips and was one of Darkseid’s female warriors before leaving with Scott; she’s not exactly from the June Cleaver housewife mold. The issue wraps up with Scott and Barda discovering their enemies will find them despite their efforts to live a normal life.  Hey, it’s a comic book, what else would you expect?

Back when I was buying comics on a weekly basis DeMatteis was among my favorite writers and he remains so with this story.  There is a good mix of humor with personality, and being this is that start of a new series the story is peppered with references to Mister Miracle’s origin and some past adventures, which is good all around.  I’m not sure if Ian Gibson also did the cover or not, but his work on the interior is much better than the cover (the cheesecake shots of Barda are a definite plus) with some panels being downright excellent.  All in all, a dollar well spent.  This is one of the rare cases where I have the next issue in the series. Actually I bought issues 1-10 on the same day, so look forward to more Mister Miracle reviews in the future.

2 comments on “Mister Miracle #1 (Jan. 1989)

  1. Mickey Kit
    June 8, 2012

    Wow. I never even knew about this series.

    I’m a fan of DeMatteis and I think superhero comics reached their pinnacle at DC in the late 90s, so I should probably seek this one out.

    But, seriously. That cover is a mess. Glad to hear the interior art is better. Otherwise, I’d pass. I guess that’s kind of my rule of reading: good art, bad story – I’ll read it. Bad art, good story – I’ll pass.

    • bargaincomicreviews
      June 9, 2012

      Mid to late 90s is pretty much when I stopped collecting comics. Apparently I didn’t miss much in the last 15 or so years!

      Who looked at that cover and said “Yeah, that’s good. Run it.” I have to believe that was a last minute placement and there was no other choice.

      I stumbled on this series by accident, finding #13 first. The art all around in #13 is much better than this first issue, which I guess makes sense. You can’t beat the original Jack Kirby series though.

      As much as I’d like to take the high road and say “I can read a good story with bad art,” bad art can seriously detract from a good story.

Leave a Reply

