Bargain Comic Reviews

New Reviews of Old Comics

Superboy (starring the Legion of Super-Heroes) #227 (May 1977)


Purchase price: $1

Yes, it’s another Legion comic.  I just don’t find Legion stories to be tiresome yet.  My bookshelf has quite a few volumes of Marvel’s Essentials and DC Showcase reprint books, all of which are around 500 or more pages per volume.  They’re great to open up, read one or two stories and put back for another day, meaning I have read two of these volumes complete and cover to cover.  The first Fantastic Four volume and the first Legion volume, and I know I read the Legion book pretty much every night until I was done.  Yeah, I’m a Legion fan.

While some issues are usually two short stories this issue, “War at World’s End!” written by Gerry Conway with are by Joe Staton and Jack Abel is of the full length variety.  Any comic fan worth his salt should know Brainiac is one of Superman’s most notorious villains.  In the 30th century where the Legion operates they have Brainiac-5, who is green like his ancestor, but that’s where familial resemblances end because Brainiac-5 is a long time Legionnaire. So it’s something of a surprise to see the opening page of Brainiac-5 destroying a Legion cruiser.  Thankfully the nearby Legionnaires quicly realize him to be an imposter.  The rest of the story is Legionnaires trying to solve the mystery of the faux Braniac-5, getting into fight scenes (Superboy fights a robot) and eventually dispatching Stargrave to the depths of space.  If that seems like a pretty ho-hum description, well, that’s because I thought this was a pretty ho-hum story.  It was far from un-readable, but pretty boring as far as Legion stories go.  I’ve never been a big Joe Staton fan and his work here seems more “cartoony” than usual.  Again, not the worst comic I’ve read, but not one that’s urging me to read the next issue.

At the end of the day I guess they can’t all be winners.  I still have two more Superboy issues in my to-be-read stack, and I’m still looking forward to them.  I have to admit, though, my expectations will be lower than usual.

Notable Ad:  DC’s Super Power Shield is the most intriguing of the boring ads in a boring comic.  The thing looks like a cardboard Frisbee with Batman or Superman on it, being sold for $3.49 or $6.50 for both.  I guess someone got a little creative with the cardboard backer that their frozen pizza was sitting on.  Good for them.

Nothing quite like a disappointing comic book to put you in a lousy mood.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2012 by in Comic Book Review, DC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
