Bargain Comic Reviews

New Reviews of Old Comics

Daredevil #134 (June 1976)


Purchase price: $1

Ah, the “Man Without Fear.”  Daredevil was among the first titles I started collecting back in 1984.  I’d started with Indiana Jones and GI Joe, because I recognized those names; after that it was a Spiderman title (and I was thoroughly confused by his black costume when I first saw it on the cover).  Until my friend suggested it, I’d never heard of Daredevil.  After I found it at a local drugstore I was hooked on it for years.  As a bit of a digression for my fellow “old time” comic collectors, weren’t local drug stores (not the chain store variety) among the best places to pick up comics?  Whether they were on a spinner rack or lined up on the magazine shelf drug stores always seemed to keep a couple months back, which was great if you missed one or were starting a new title.  To this day if I find a small town drugstore it brings back good memories, even if they don’t sell comics anymore. I would LOVE to find a reasonably priced spinner rack for my house.

“There’s Trouble in New York City…” was written by Marv Wolfman with art by Bob Brown and Jim Mooney.  As usual Daredevil is on the fringe of the law, at least among the public perception, but this time he’s being set up.  In the midst of trying to stop the Chameleon ol’ horn-head winds up tussling with previous foe Torpedo.  Thankfully Daredevil can’t rely on his sight so Chameleon’s attempts to confuse him are futile.   One of the things I really enjoyed about this issue were the New York City scenes.  Yes, I know 90% of comics, especially older comics, are set in the Big Apple, but having spent more time than usual there recently it was a kick for  me recognizing the Central Park scenes.  Kudos to the artists for better than usual depictions of the park. There are other underlying stories within the issue, but since I don’t have 133 or 135, it’s pointless to comment on their place here.

A couple non-story related points I liked about this issue. The “Mighty Marvel Checklist” on page 18 lists all of the new Marvel releases for the first week of March.  I don’t think anyone publishes a checklist anymore, but I always liked seeing Marvel’s checklists; sometimes it was among the Bullpen page (remember those), sometimes it stood alone; regardless it was fun to see what other titles were floating around.  Maybe it was only interesting to me because my comic options were limited by a handful of small town drug and general stores.  If they didn’t get a title, neither did I.  The other was the last panel on page 11 with Daredevil swinging through the air.  For some reason this struck me as funny.  First I can’t even imagine what the other end of his line is attached to.  Second he is the opposite of aero-dynamic, going through the air looking like he’s standing up and holding a baseball bat.  Because beyond that the idea of a blind man dressed in a skintight devil costume is perfectly believable.

Best Ad:  Page 12 is a full page ad for “Comic Book Savers” sold by Superhero Merchandise of Dover, NJ.  There binders made of durable vinyl with a metal plate backbone hold 12 issues of your favorite titles.  Best of all it makes the issues easy to read without having to remove them AND it does so without damaging the books or the saver.  All for $1.99 plus 50 cents shipping and handling, with lowers prices for multiple binder orders.  BUT WAIT, there’s more!!!  Each book comes with a full page of stickers of your favorite characters.  All the better to decorate your binders with! Can you stand it?  Do you think they have stickers for Balder the Brave, Fin Fang Foom, or Galactus?  Is it just Marvel characters, or are the DC guys too?  Now I’m curious as to how this binder allows you to read your comics with removing or damaging them.

Someday I’m going to pick one of the myriad “Grit” ads that I see so often as Best Ad, but not today.  I think I should figure out what the hell “Grit” is first.

5 comments on “Daredevil #134 (June 1976)

  1. wwayne
    May 4, 2013

    I’m a big fan of Daredevil too, as you can see from the list of my favorite comic books ever: http://thedynamicbuzz.com/2012/11/12/preview-batgirl-14/#comments. Do you agree with my choices?

    • bargaincomicreviews
      May 4, 2013

      For the ones I’ve read, I would definitely agree they’re in the conversation. That’s a very interesting list; nice job putting it together. Given the thousands of comics I’ve read, I think it would take me a long, long time to even think about greatest single issues!

      • wwayne
        May 5, 2013

        Another blogger told me that he couldn’t write a list of his favorite story arcs and single issues, but he definitely could write a list of his favorite runs, and he would give the gold medal to Claremont’s run on the X – Men.
        Honestly I’m not a big X – Fan, but I have some issues of that run, so I think I’ll read them sooner or later to clarify whether they deserve to be appreciated so much.

      • bargaincomicreviews
        May 6, 2013

        I was a big X-Fan back in the mid to late 80s, but eventually lost interest when everything Marvel published became some sort of multi-issue crossover money grab bonanza, typically with mutants. I sold almost all of my X-Men, New Mutants and X-Factor comics and bought up a bunch of independent titles. I still have my New Mutants graphic novel though.
        I think Claremont’s run was significant for the duration, but he also put out a lot of great ideas that became the basis for many other Marvel concepts. Of course every issue wasn’t a gem. but taken as a whole it definitely was a positive impact on comics in general. That said, I think Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing, Walter Simonson’s Thor, Peter David’s Hulk would all have to be in the discussion, as far as “older” writing arcs go.

      • wwayne
        May 7, 2013

        My favorite runs are Miller’s Daredevil, Ennis’ Punisher, Milligan’s X – Statix and the whole Gotham Central series.
        I could add Snyder’s Swamp Thing and Lemire’s Animal Man and Green Arrow, but Snyder’s run ended only 2 months ago and Lemire’s ones are still going on, so it’s better to wait and see whether they stand the test of time, instead of putting them in an all time list on the spur of the moment. Thank you for your reply! : )

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2011 by in Comic Book Review, Marvel and tagged , , , , , , , .
